Looking for a diagram of The Globe Theatre?

February 6, 2010 at 2:23 pm 5 comments

Hi folks!  Are you one of the many students who keeps finding my post of pictures while in search of a diagram of Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre?  I can’t tell if you are trying to find a diagram of the building or stage floorplans.  I’ve become intrigued by this problem and am surprised this information is not already floating around the web.

Prop Girl to the rescue … here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

1. If you have time, you can become the envy of all your friends by ordering this teaching aid contains the Globe floorplans:

Shakespeare’s Theatre, Jackdaw Kit (Primary Source Collection and Guide), Golden Owl, 1973. This is a collection of reproductions of primary source materials that document Shakespeare and his theatre. It contains Globe floorplans, First Folio pages, and modern broadsheets containing historical information about an Elizabethan theatre troupe, among other items. They are available from the Writing Company Shakespeare Catalog, phone 800-421-4246, fax 800-944-5432, Web http://WritingCo.com/Shakespeare, e-mail access@WritingCo.com.

2. If you are a real go-getter and want the best information available, try contacting the Globe Theatre staff.  Surely this information is in the public domain.  You could e-mail the library, or if you’re in England try calling the general number and talking your way into the voicemail box of the Technical Director.  His/her name is not listed on the site, but I assure you there is a TD and he/she has many versions of the floorplans.  Unlike the people in the library, the TD probably does not often receive outside requests and might become interested in your problem.  Be nice and send a thank you note later.  All TDs like cookies/biscuits.

http://www.shakespeares-globe.org/abouttheglobe/contactus/

3. Page 11 of this children’s activity book shows the general layout of the building.  I think it’s really cute they included the tree.

http://www.shakespeares-globe.org/docs/Exhibition%20Activity%20Book.pdf

4. This is probably proprietary information (whoops), but here are two diagrams I found of the New SL Globe Theatre.  They are supposedly the same as the original Globe; I cannot guarantee they are identical to The Old Globe Theatre now in London.

Good luck and if anyone comes up with a better diagram, send me the link or pdf and I’ll add it to this post.

Cheers

Entry filed under: Theaters, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Holy Holy Spellcheck I WILL fit in there.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ryan  |  February 8, 2010 at 3:00 am

    Hey Sara,

    Great site – and thanks for all this stuff about the Globe! Thought I’d share my own tip as well. It’s not a diagram, but the Globe also has a virtul tour (http://www.shakespeares-globe.org/abouttheglobe/virtualtour/) of the theatre, which I always find great in the classroom. Hope someone finds it helpful!

    Reply
  • 2. Jessie is Skoopy  |  February 8, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Thanks Prop Girl! I was just in London this weekend. I didn’t make it to the Globe though. :(

    Reply
  • 3. Sue McCrea  |  March 23, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    this is a great site. Thanks very much. My sone 12 thanks you too for the help with his Globe project.

    Reply
    • 4. saratoday  |  March 24, 2012 at 9:43 pm

      Hi Sue. Glad I could help. I wish I had the actual diagram. Hope you find it.

      Cheers.

      Reply
  • 5. annaferla  |  April 16, 2013 at 12:08 pm

    lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 155,860 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

