I’m back! And I climbed a mountain.

June 15, 2008 at 12:44 pm 1 comment

Hi everybody!  Sorry I haven’t had any posts in awhile.  I think I overloaded on blogging and needed a little break.  But I’m back and all sorts of exciting things have happened.  For today I’ll tell you about our hiking adventure in Wales a couple of weeks ago.

The H and I hiked Snowdon Mountain, the highest mountain in England and, at 3560 feet, the highest mountain The H and I have climbed.

Yr Wyddfa, the summit

We started early in hopes of avoiding the predicted rain.  We planned on taking the more difficult path, Crib Goch, which goes along a horse-shoe shaped ridge, but it was very windy so we stuck to the more popular Pyg Path.  I’m sure the Crib Goch route would have been spectacular but I was very glad to have skipped it.  We could see people up on the ridge crawling to keep from blowing off.  As we reached the summit it became very windy and The H was nearly knocked off trying to catch his hat as it blew across the now-unused rail tracks.  The best part was when the rain started and the wind blew it so fast it stung as it hit our faces.  Oh yeah, and it was mixed with flying rocks and gravel.  Woo-hoo!

You can see our route here starting with the green marker “Begain walking to Snowden Mountain.”

We were up there:

We were up there

The path around Llyn Llydaw:

The path around Llyn Llydaw

Windy on top:

Windy summit

About to rain:

about to rain

Too many people on top:

Too many people on top

mysterious rock structure:

mysterious rock structure

Welsh dragon:

Welsh dragon

Entry filed under: Hiking, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Conwy Castle in lovely, lovely Wales Even More Bull

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jillyesterday  |  June 16, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    That was neat to see exactly where you were on the map! Jill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 179,366 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


