DD and Me: 20 hours in London

June 26, 2008 at 1:11 am 1 comment

Sunday, June 8

Dana’s flight departed on Monday and it seemed like it would be very stressful for her to deal with the train from Birmingham, the tube, the madhouse that is Heathrow and an international flight all by herself all in one day, so we had no choice but to travel on Sunday and spend a night in London.  Oh no.  Of course, we missed the train (due to a leisurely breakfast).  Once in London, we jumped on the tube at Marelybone only to discover half-way through our journey that the Victoria line was down all day.  Dana had a ton of luggage from Iraq so we hopped in a cab to the hotel.

For some reason we thought it would be a good idea to spend our afternoon at the Camden Town markets.  I must have had a hole in my pocket because all of my money disappeared.

Camden Market

This is only the beginning of literally hundreds of vendors with every style of hand-made clothing, bags, jewelry and trinkets imaginable.  I ate delicious falaffel from the Falaffel Queen.  I had dressed for rain (since that’s what it does here) but It was quite sunny and getting really hot so I had to buy a cute yellow tank-dress-shirt-thing with purple flowers.  And we both bought beautiful skirts from this awesome woman, Nicola Quilter, who was running her own booth.  She pretty much had us with the sizing chart:

sizes

I bought a mini-skirt (Trim) but in the knee-length skirt I am Normal.  Dana says, “…might I note that I think the is the only time one will every hear Sara referred to as “normal.”

skirt

After that I limited myself to the cash on hand which was a wise choice (Dana left the next morning with 14.50 quid which turned out to be the exact cab fare from Terminal 4 to Terminal 3).  Other than the skirt and shirt, I only purchased what will become holiday gifts for lucky friends and sisters. 

We spent the evening catching up with friends.  Really, there’s nothing that makes you feel more cool and worldy than having last-minute drinks with people you know in London.

Nicola and Dana.  Nicola took us on a bus to get back to our hotel near Victoria Station.  That nicely rounded out our forms of public transportation for the day.

2 Red Hot Ladies

 

Val, Neill and Sara.  This one is fuzzy, but that’s appropriate since I’d been hitting the Pimms again and Val was jet-lagged from getting back that morning from her three-week honeymoon to Japan and Australia.

old friends

I haven’t seen Dana since The H swept me away to the suburbs.  We had so much fun, we won’t wait that long again to have a vacation adventure.  Cheers, Luv!

 

Entry filed under: Travel, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

DD and Me: Bumming Around Brummagem Goodrich Castle Windows – A Lovely View All For You

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dana  |  September 26, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Awww the good old days!!! I wish we were there right now. But you know, England, Minnesota, it’s really quite the same 🙂 I’ll come visit and we can make Pimms and lemonade and an amazing cheese platter ( I’ll smuggle in the raw cheese from my cheese guy) you can scatter the almonds 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 178,212 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


