Day Out – Blenheim Palace and Oxford

July 9, 2008 at 1:11 am 1 comment

This really would be much faster on Flickr, but I’ve been kicked out of the kitchen and need something to do.  I prepped dinner before The Husband got home and now he’s finishing his fabulous dish we call Tacolaffel.  I have been informed “dancing around behind me does not constitute help.”

Sunday, June 22

Blenheim Palace:

 Blenheim Palace

Collumn of Victory:

sheep on the hillside

tall ass statue

Sheep on the hillside:

Statue of Victory

I just love sheep.

shorn mama sheep

We couldn’t remember the rules to checkers so we went with the ones we could remember.  I was clearly winning by the made up (and it turns out very misguided) rules so The H forfeited.  Plus his nose was getting sunburned.  Victory!

Giant Checkers

Map of the world’s second largest hedge maze:

Hedge Maze map

The H in the hedge maze:

I made it!

I made it!

Scary tree monster:

scary tree troll

Keebler wishes.

Keebler wishes

The H likes to take pictures of my butt.

The H likes to take pictures of my butt

Finally!  I’ve been trying to go to a Butterfly House since we got here.  I learned butterflies like kalanchoe and spider plants, both of which I have at home.

 butterfly house

8-inch moth:

8-inch moth

In Oxford.  The pub where C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkein would meet after church.

pub

The Eagle and Child menu.  We had dinner and ale.  The H ordered the beer.  For me he picked Bitter and Twisted Blonde.

 pub menu

CS Lewis.  And check out this guy’s blog – he took way better pictures of Oxford than I did.

CS Lewis

And one for the road:

I just love sheep

Entry filed under: Travel, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

That little man is everywhere. I Love Love Love Love Love Love Scotland

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jessie's phone is skoopy too  |  July 11, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    Turns out I can get your blog on my blackberry. Now I can follow you EVERYWHERE! Today I am reading from the luxurious Greyhound bus.

    Looks like your hair is getting long. Are you going to let it keep going?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 180,272 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


