I Love Love Love Love Love Love Scotland

July 12, 2008 at 10:00 am 2 comments

July 2, 2008

The Husband and I just returned from our perfect Scottish holiday and we couldn’t be happier or more relaxed and in love with everything Scottish.   The highlandsare breathtaking.  As we drove through Glencoe on the way to Fort William I said, “It’s so wonderful here.   I didn’t know there was such a beautiful place in the world.  I love the world!”  The H said, “If you persist on baaa-ing at every sheep we pass I will be forced to use the Passenger Eject button.”

Passenger Eject

It is going to take several posts to tell everything we did, so I’ll just start with the first day.  We drove north from Birmingham, stopping at Carlisle Castle in Cumbria.  We mistakenly parked over a mile away so we had quite a walk carrying all of our picnic gear – The H just wanted to tailgate but I had visions of a picnic in the grass damnit so he dutifully walked with me to the park near the castle and back to the car and back to the castle again.  Cream of the crop I’ve got here.  We had our American-themed picnic in the shadow of Carlisle castle, complete with ham sandwiches, red, white & blue napkins and our first Dr. Pepper in six months (it’s a specialty item here).  The castle was set impressivly high on the rock with views of the city and the countryside.

Carlisle Castle

Carlisle Castle

We continued driving north along the west coast of Scotland.  We stopped near Glasgow in a little town called East Kilbride in search of evidence of The H’s people who are supposedly from near there.  We hoped to find a big “Kilbride” sign that I could lay dead in front of, but no such luck.  We did locate several signs bearing The H’s surname.  I can’t publish them of course because that would be against The Blog Rules As Pertaining To My Marriage, but I think I can say we found a business park (technology mostly which is fitting) as well as a road, square, place, court, avenue and Moss.

East Kilbride

East Kilbride

Jane (the lady in the Tom-Tom who tells us where to go) was not on top of her game in the highlands so we ended up on a two-lane road for 70 miles.  That is how we discovered Glencoe, the most beautiful place on earth.  I later found this quote about Glencoe.  Hmmmm, that wasn’t my impression …

“A gloomy, eerie place, a valley of sorrow
hewn out of mountains of guilt.”    -Geddes MacGregor

Glencoe

Glencoe

We arrived happily in Fort William around 9pm just in time for a mountain sunset and a good night’s sleep for our impending hike.

We are going up there:

We are going up there

Ben Nevis

Entry filed under: Travel, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Day Out – Blenheim Palace and Oxford O Caledonia! Land of the Mountain

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. WardrobeBecky  |  July 15, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Sara! I love your travels, your photos and your humor! You went hiking up BEN NEVIS? You are an international rock star in my book. It may take me a few more hours to catch up on all your adventures, but time well spent.

    Reminds me I ought to get a new passport!

    I’m also glad to see you know about the “Where the Hell is Matt” video. I love it.

    What’s your address these days?

    Reply
  • 2. found in a notebook « Sara Today  |  March 20, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    […] (2nd page) ass end of Piddlehinton out in East Kilbride […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 179,314 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


