Happy Happening Edinburgh

July 20, 2008 at 1:11 am 3 comments

So what if it rained the whole time?

So what if it rained the whole time?

July 5, 2008

Good times, good times.  What a great city!  Large enough to have lots to do, small enough to navigate on foot.  Hip but unpretentious locals.  Good food, cheap whisky, beautiful and not too expensive.  The only thing I’m sorry about is that we’re heading back to the states before the series of festivals in August.

We rose early and hurried to Edinburgh Castle in an attempt to beat the crowds.  It was a good move – by the time we left the line was 200 people deep.

Our tour guide (ignore the Union Jack, it’s a technicality).

How To Wear A Kilt

How To Wear A Kilt

This is a door from the military prison at Edinburgh Castle.  The graffiti is from an American revolutionary “war criminal.”  Can you see the little ship and flag with 13 colonial stars?  I was feeling patriotic the whole trip.
Stars and Stripes

Stars and Stripes

Supposedly the phrase “3 square meals a day” originates from Edinburgh Castle where most prisoners were treated fairly well and received a large and specific amount of food on square plates.  The Americans were treated worse due to being considered war criminals instead of enemy soldiers.  Hmmmm … sound familiar?
3 squares a day

3 squares a day

The H stayed at the castle to see the military museum.  I couldn’t take any more swords and dungeon stuff so I wandered the streets in search of a funny sheep t-shirt.  I didn’t find one, but that’s okay.  I did buy a plaid wool scarf – how could I not?
Edinburgh street

Edinburgh street

Sara short

Sara Short

Sara Tall

Sara Tall

We met up later for a bus and boat tour just as it started pouring rain.  The bus had the most hilarious narration of any bus tour I’ve ever been on and the boat ride on the Firth of Forth was fun and not too crowded.
Firth of Forth bridge

Firth of Forth bridge

Someday I’ll go back to Edinburgh for the fringe festival and 6 tons of explosives.   Until then I’ll just reminisce with my pictures.
Haggis, Neeps & Tatties

Haggis, Neeps and Tatties

Entry filed under: Travel, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Naturally High in The Highlands Goodbye Scotland, Hello England

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. WardrobeBecky  |  July 25, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    Sara! I have been to the EdFringe and loved every minute of it.I’ve even worked there during it! Its theater overdose, my fave kind of OD. I’ve dreamed of performing there- a one woman show kind of thing- and next year is my plan. If all goes well, you are welcome to go back to EdFringe09 with me as my StageMgr/TechieGoddess. We’d have a hoot. I miss My Edinburgh. All the Closes on the Miracle Mile. And I get swoony around all the plaid. I’m mad about plaid wool. I found a couple second hand stores in Edinburgh and am now the proud owner of three Chick kilts of my own. Chick kilts are longer than then Men’s kilts. Some are matronly past the knee, and rare ones go to the floor. I have an obnoxious cream/orange/purple floor length kilt. In a chilly apt I had in South Dakota that kilt came out of the storage suitcase and was a toasty blanket on the bed! And loved loved loved the Haggis and Neeps!
    Oh and about the End of Fringe Fireworks — AStounding doesn’t even touch it. Its all choreographed to live orchestra playing in the park below the castle. People everywhere — streets, balconies, rooftops. Its magic. And loud. And very very cool! So many different kinds of moods and effects from the sound and light show!! I thought how does it get better from over 100 theater shows, comedy and music and art everywhere for a month? After strike week of taking down lights and trusses, the sweet reward of 6 tons of fireworks. Save August of next year! You’re going to see for yourself!

    Reply
  • 2. WardrobeBecky  |  July 25, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Ooh Ooh Ooh! DID you get up to Arthur’s Seat? I know it looks awful soggy, but did you get up the hill for the view? I love it there.
    Wicked cook Firth of Forth in the rain picture. Your poloroid skills continue to enchant! G’bye Scotland, for now.

    Reply
  • 3. WardrobeBecky  |  July 25, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Flip and fetch.
    I don’t know what “Wicked Cook Firth of Forth pic” means.
    I meant to type WICKED COOL Firth of Forth pic.
    Silly typing too fast fingers.
    They apologise for their indescretions.
    WICKED COOL. WICKED COOL.
    practice makes perfect.
    Much like your camera!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 181,506 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


