The road goes ever on and on

July 25, 2008 at 1:11 am 3 comments

July 10, 2008

With less than a month left in England I realized I should stop putting off some of the things I still want to do which includes exploring Moseley Bog, the supposed inspiration for Tolkien’s Shire.  Having seen it I believe it – the now nature preserve would be a wonderful playground for a, err, child with an overactive imagination.

I could have taken the 50 bus straight there but I decided I would enjoy it more if I earned it with a walking journey.  The 3.9 mile route took me through an industrial area of Birmingham, through the adorable Moseley town center and finally the pretty neighborhood of Balsall Heath.

Birmingham:

 

null

 Moseley:

The Fighting Cocks Inn

The Fighting Cocks Inn

Balsall Heath:

Cutest Little Car Ever

Cutest Little Car Ever

garden

garden

 

Still round the corner there may wait
A new road or a secret gate

Enter

moseley bog

 

The Road goes ever on and on                    
Down from the door where it began.
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
And I must follow, if I can,
Pursuing it with eager feet,                      
Until it joins some larger way
Where many paths and errands meet.
And whither then? I cannot say.
        

hobbit path

 

 

 

A shadow seemed to pass over the high sun.

A shadow seemed to pass over the high sun.

All trembled

All trembled

Use the Force

Use the Force

 

more graffiti

more of the Shire

Entry filed under: Adventures, Heads & Hands, Travel, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Goodbye Scotland, Hello England Nuts About Nelson

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. WardrobeBecky  |  July 25, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Did you find the BeanieBabyCow attacking the PlasticCouple? Or, um, did you bring them? Its unexpected and funny either way! and wicked cool graffitti. Yesterday I saw like 4 or 5 mini coopers around Mlps! And one little itty bitty car smaller than a cooper. I missed the UK so much, was thinking, I so have to check Sara’s blog! And then all these minicoopers crossed my path. I loved it!

    Reply
  • 2. Jessie is Skoopy  |  July 26, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    I hope the gallant knight was able to rescue the fair maiden!

    Reply
  • 3. Myra  |  July 28, 2008 at 12:50 am

    Cow…yay! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 178,182 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


