Gender Bender

August 31, 2008 at 7:11 am Leave a comment

I just read about this new-fangled Gender Genie on another blog, Life is a Cookie.  It is an analysis tool that’s supposed to tell you if the author of a piece of writing is male or female.  At first I thought it was hilarious, like sheep, but then it annoyed me.  Why are “a” and “the” masculine words while “and” is a feminine word?  AND why are “above” and “below” masculine while “when” “where” and “if” are feminine?  I think I am most annoyed that “hers” “her” and “she” are feminine words but “his” and “he” don’t even register (i.e. both boys and girls will go to movies about boys, but only girls want to see movies about girls).   Clearly “me” and “myself” are correctly categorized as female – men never talk about themselves.

The person who wrote the program says that she (I think) doesn’t think it is worth much in terms of accurate analysis, but that it is still interesting.  It is interesting in that I think it says more about assumptions about how men and women write and think that it does about actual men and women.

I had the Gender Genie analyze my 3 most recent blog posts that had enough words (The genie works best on texts of more than 500 words).  I left out quotes from other people.

From Drop the Soap

Words: 510

Female Score: 530
Male Score: 818
The Gender Genie thinks the author of this passage is: male!

Keys Male words I used a lot:  what, is, the, a, it, to

Key Female word I used a lot: not, and.  I received 52 feminine points for using the word “with” once.  What?

 

From Product Overload

Words: 765
Female Score: 1074
Male Score: 982
The Gender Genie thinks the author of this passage is: female!

Key Male words I used a lot: the, a, to, as

Key Female words I used a lot: with, not, and

 

From What I Learned At The Sex Museum

Words: 949
Female Score: 1092
Male Score: 1149
The Gender Genie thinks the author of this passage is: male!

Analysis
Feminine Keywords Masculine Keywords
[with] 6 x 52 = 312 [around] 2 x 42 = 84
[if] 1 x 47 = 47 [what] 1 x 35 = 35
[not] 15 x 27 = 405 [more] 3 x 34 = 102
[where] 0 x 18 = 0 [are] 3 x 28 = 84
[be] 3 x 17 = 51 [as] 0 x 23 = 0
[when] 1 x 17 = 17 [who] 4 x 19 = 76
[your] 2 x 17 = 34 [below] 0 x 8 = 0
[her] 6 x 9 = 54 [is] 11 x 8 = 88
[we] 0 x 8 = 0 [these] 1 x 8 = 8
[should] 1 x 7 = 7 [the] 52 x 7 = 364
[she] 2 x 6 = 12 [a] 26 x 6 = 156
[and] 30 x 4 = 120 [at] 5 x 6 = 30
[me] 4 x 4 = 16 [it] 11 x 6 = 66
[myself] 0 x 4 = 0 [many] 2 x 6 = 12
[hers] 0 x 3 = 0 [said] 0 x 5 = 0
[was] 17 x 1 = 17 [above] 0 x 4 = 0
  [to] 22 x 2 = 44

 

I think this analysis is the funniest, because if you were to actually read the Sex Museum post it’s pretty obvious it is a woman writing.  I filled out the BookBlog survey thinking there would be a question about how accurate the Gender Genie is, but it was just the typical age-gender-income crap.  I was hoping there would be a comments section so I could say “Your Gender Genie SUCKS DONKEY BALLS.”  (I’m masculine, remember?)

 

Anyway, I’m 2 out of 3 male.  Lucky me.  Even luckier is The Husband.  I know all there is to know about the crying game.  ooh-ooh-ooh.

By the way, the Gender Genie thinks the author of this post is:  Male

Entry filed under: Rants & Ramblings, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Everybody Hates My New Shirt No Cookies For You

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 180,717 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


