I don’t even know where to begin

August 18, 2009 at 6:40 pm Leave a comment

I just returned from the most wonderful end of summer vacation.  My friend Dana is moving back to San Diego after living in D.C. for several years.  We moved there the same month and worked on our first show together at The Shakespeare Theatre Company.  I snuck into town and surprised her at a party planned by Carly and Anne-Marie.  It was great to see so many friends after so long – I haven’t been back there in two years.  Everyone seemed happy and looked great.   We’ll be talking about this week-end for years.

(pics here)

It was a whirlwind – I flew into D.C. on Thursday, took the train to Baltimore and stayed with Garry and John, who fed me lobster and a wine called Irony.  Then on Friday we took their boat across the Chesapeake Bay to a posh little marina called Osprey Point. 

Osprey Point Marina

After a quick swim Saturday morning, John dropped me off at the train.  I met Jackie and Alexis at The Hotel Harrington where we spent an hour and half getting ready like we were going prom.  Pam popped down from New York for the day and Allison was here from New Jersey (I think).  We drank sangria and ate shrimp and bacon-wrapped dates at Jaleo, then moved on to Regional Food & Drink. 

 Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

 6 hours later the crew ended up back at Harry’s for some impromptu 80s karaoke and dancing, kindly provided by the bartender’s MP3 player and perhaps not appreciated by all the patrons.  Ah well.

Sunday morning we girls brunched at Eastern Market (Dana, Myra, Jackie, Melissa, Alexis and me).  Later I met up with my darling cousin Erin who looks like a model.

Erin & Sara

I returned to Dana’s for her fabulous Italian cooking followed by fresh picked peach crumble courtesy of Mel.  My final evening I slept peacefully in the quiet oasis of Mel’s garden apartment then back to Dana’s in the morning for breakfast.  A small tragedy (the coffee pot BROKE!) was averted with a quick trip to Dunkin Donuts. 

As usual I underestimated the time the metro would take and nearly missed my flight.  But I made it just in time.  The Husband picked me up at the airport and I’m relaxed, tan and happy to be home.

A perfect week-end!

Entry filed under: Travel, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Robin’s egg update When do triathletes pee?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 180,301 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


