The House on the Rock

October 7, 2009 at 7:11 am 24 comments

I almost don’t want to write about the amazing, magnificent, awe-inspiring House on the Rock as nothing I can say will possibly do it justice.  It is astonishing, awesome, fascinating, incredible, marvelous, prodigious, shocking, stunning, surprising, unbelievable and wonderful. 

Hey Everybody!  Especially you, Jessie –  Add this to your Must See Before I Die list.  If you have one.  If not, start one.

Although we spent over 3 hours roaming the twisty corridors, I only took 15 pictures.  It almost seemed wrong to take pictures.  And why bother since one couldn’t possibly document it all without going insane.

Here’s a small sample of the delights of the house upon the rock …

Heritage of the Sea

Heritage of the Sea

More creepy dolls than you can shake a stick at.

marionettes

Creepy Dolls in a Carriage

The Dying Drunkard

The Dying Drunkard

And some things for the ladies.

Baby in a Bottle

Fat Banished 2

 

And finally, the house is filled with elaborate displays of musical instruments playing intricately designed musical pieces.

Violins 1

 Our senses were so overstimulated that we couldn’t even listen to the radio for an hour afterwords – I was glad to have 50 miles of Wisconsin backroads to navigate and contemplate.   There was too much, too much, too much.

A few more pictures here … but see it with your own eyes.

Entry filed under: Heads & Hands, Travel, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Hiking at Devil’s Lake Someone stop me – I’m obsessed with the Office Max owl.

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve Wiggins  |  October 7, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Now this post brought back memories! Having lived/taught in Wisconsin for 14 years, we were well acquainted with House on the Rock. Some of our neighbors said it was over-the-top, but it is right up there on my list, along with the Mustard Museum and Wisconsin Dells. Thanks for the memories!

    Reply
  • 2. s8529226  |  October 7, 2009 at 9:43 am

    dude that is scary
    http://s8529226.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 3. Steven Harris  |  October 7, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Vrry Chuck Palahniuk.
    http://doctorbeatnik.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  • 4. Tammy Terwelp  |  October 7, 2009 at 10:18 am

    I am from Wisconsin and have been there several times… is there not something just “off” about the place?

    There is a great book called ‘American Gods’ by Neil Gaiman where The House on The Rock is a setting. It may clairfy that all my life, even as an adult, when visiting The House I have felt ‘not quite right’. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/House_on_the_Rock

    Scroll down to media.

    Great photos and descriptions on your blog!

    Reply
  • 5. Deana  |  October 7, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Ever read American Gods? House on the Rock plays a big role. After reading it the place took on a mystical feeling for me, I forgot it was a real place. All of these things are in the book as well. Very cool.

    Reply
    • 6. John  |  October 7, 2009 at 12:25 pm

      I recently started reading Gaiman’s novel, American Gods. This is the first Gaiman book I’ve read. I just came upon the place in the book in which Shadow, Wednesday, and other characters encounter House on the Rock in all its spooky weirdness.

      There is (or was) a home along the Mississippi in Wisconsin in which a large boulder had tumbled down a hill and landed on the home’s roof. A sign was posted nearby, which reads, “Rock on the House”. I saw it 1995; it may or may not still be there.

      Reply
  • 7. Gloris Young  |  October 7, 2009 at 10:54 am

    I’ve heard of this place, but never seen it. Love the overhang glass walkway thingy. Thanks for the info. Gloris (www.gloriadelia.wordpress.com)

    Reply
  • 8. JoAnne  |  October 7, 2009 at 11:59 am

    This really brought back memories for me as well! I think it was 1979 when we visited. I would LOVE to go back and bring my husband. It’s a fascinating place. And yes, it can overwhlem the senses quickly!

    Reply
    • 9. Graciela  |  October 7, 2009 at 1:19 pm

      Los quiero mucho, gracias por toda su ayuda

      Reply
      • 10. Graciela  |  October 7, 2009 at 1:20 pm

        Lo siento me equivoque de sector. bye.

        Reply
  • 11. abiel  |  October 7, 2009 at 11:59 am

    The images set the mood for a late night trip towards something that will spike up your chills.

    Reply
  • 12. Mathew Poolman  |  October 7, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    My girlfriend and I set out for the House last month, definitely one of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen in my life.
    I have no idea how you managed to write a blog on it, I’ve been racking my brain to find words to describe it since I left…
    Good job! 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. agent58  |  October 7, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Nice pictures, wish I could go there.
    http://fiestamovement.com/agents/view/58

    Reply
  • 14. Jackie Zettles  |  October 7, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Sara!
    I came across your blog while doing some research on wordpress -they are showing your blog as a great example. Way to go! JZ

    Reply
  • 15. Jason Haas  |  October 7, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Ahh yes; we went there after it was made a part of Neil Gaiman’s book “American Gods.” Funny thing was to me, I was more interested in the great cliff structure that it’s built upon than the house itself! But if you dig amazing visuals, it’s worth seeing.

    Reply
  • 16. Haswardi Hasan  |  October 7, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    wowwww,,,, great house, totallity i like it…

    Reply
  • 17. chuck LoCascio  |  October 8, 2009 at 12:43 am

    you spent 3 hours there? man that does sound long, but im sure it was worth it, the pictures look interesting…very cool

    Reply
  • 18. schreibermmb  |  October 8, 2009 at 6:02 am

    Awesome images, specially the shark.

    Reply
  • 19. prettyproject  |  October 8, 2009 at 7:56 am

    That is so super-cool. I spent an entire summer in Wisconsin once and NEVER knew this existed. Had I, I would have most definitely popped in! 🙂

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

    Reply
  • 20. Frances Bean  |  October 8, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Freakkkyyyyyy, lol.. Those dolls creeped me out.

    Reply
  • 21. Cindi  |  October 8, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Makes me want to get on a plane and fly up just for that! What an interesting place! Never heard of it, but you can be sure I will do my research and find out more. My hubby is from Wisconsin and he has never mentioned it. hummmm….
    Thank you for writing about this wonderful place to visit.

    Reply
  • 22. saratoday  |  October 8, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Wow – I can’t believe I’m featured on the front page. I feel so cool. One thing I forgot to mention is that there is a super secret display being built at the House on the Rock set to be revealed in 2012 (I think). What could it be?!!

    Welcome everyone!
    Cheers.

    Reply
  • 23. Flower Boy  |  October 8, 2009 at 10:06 am

    like a real life house of horrors?! very spooky/weird

    Reply
  • 24. saratoday  |  October 16, 2009 at 8:08 am

    For your viewing pleasure, I just added a video of the giant carousel. Here …

    https://saratoday.wordpress.com/2009/10/16/ho-ho-ha-ha-hee-hee/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 179,366 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


