Ode to Firefox

November 3, 2009 at 7:11 am 3 comments

Ode to Firefox

By SaraToday

https://i2.wp.com/www.optimiced.com/wp-uploads/2009/02/MaybeThisIsTheBiggestLogoOfFirefoxInThisWorld.original4500.png

O Jessie

A year has come and gone since you first switched to Firefox.

You mentioned it once but didn’t push,

Perhaps sensing my hesitancy.

I declined; didn’t even look into it.

Said, “Self, I’ve always used Internet Explorer.”

‘Twas the worst of human nature –

Fear of change,

Clinging to the old ways.

Squinty-eyed folded-armed suspicion.

Even with the neo-hippiness of my long-past college days

I didn’t believe something created by many people for free

could be as good as something made by a company for profit.

Shame, shame, for shame.

.

Then recently I was encouraged

And somewhat pressured

By a man in black aptly named Code.

I took the plunge.

I pressed Download.

Import Favorites.

Keep my previous homepage.

.

Wha… ?  It’s subtly faster –

Oh.  Oh look how quickly it opens images.

Ooooohhhhh.

And, it … asks me questions.  So many options!

Do I want to save and reopen these tabs next time? YES YES YES!

Open Source I embrace thee!

Like Free Range and Co-Op and CommonWealth.

Like the wireless woven web itself

we are supported by

this quiet glue of many minds at work.

.

And I feel so hip with the pretty little world in my toolbar.

Cool beans.  Cool beans.

Entry filed under: Rants & Ramblings, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Say Cheese Swept to Sea

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bee  |  November 4, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Code is a wise man. Tis good to heed his advice. Happy Foxing Day.

    Reply
  • 2. Jessie is Skoopy  |  November 4, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Wooo-hooo! I dig firefox! Thanks for the shout out! Miss you!

    Reply
  • 3. Frances Bean  |  November 5, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    I’m currently in love with Google Chrome, but Firefox iis pretty awesome too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 178,299 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


