The next Disney movie I’d like to see Tim Burton redo.

December 22, 2009 at 7:36 am Leave a comment

Pinocchio, The Tale of a Puppet.  It wasn’t my favorite as a child, but I think it has great creepy potential.

I’m appropriately excited about Alice in Wonderland of course, and I can see how Mr. Burton would be inspired by the rabbit hole and the growing and shrinking and all the talking animals, but if he wants to get creepy, what has more creepy potential than puppets and dolls?

The honor of the Disney story with the darkest undertones should go to The Little Mermaid except they ignored the part where she commits suicide. Yeah, I know it’s a kids’ movie, but I (vaguely) remember watching a 70s version on PBS in which the mermaid killed herself, and I’m fine.  Maybe we wouldn’t be in such a mess right now if we’d all had a little more “life is not fair” and a little less “you can have everything.”   That’s right, I said it – our entire economy has failed because Disney didn’t kill off that buxom singing mermaid.

I had sort of forgotten about the dark side of Pinocchio and just thought it might be a nice holiday treat to read the original version by C. Collodi (pen name for Carlo Lorenzini).  It’s a heart-warming tale right?  Wrong.  I’m only on page 18 and Pinocchio just SMASHED JIMINY CRICKET WITH A HAMMER.  Wha?!  (It’s actually not “Jiminy”; it’s simply the Talking Cricket.)

I can’t wait to find out what this mean little boy puppet does next.

Entry filed under: Heads & Hands, Rants & Ramblings, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

The Heidelberg Electric Belt or Weird Things People Did To Their Bodies Remember the Reason for the Season

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 180,717 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


