Want to lose weight? Get braces.

January 17, 2010 at 3:03 pm 10 comments

WHAT HAVE I DONE?

That is what I have been asking myself since Wednesday morning when I had braces put on.  I’ve been completely horrified for 4 days.  First it was the shock of the distraught toothy freak in the mirror.  Followed by having the inside of my mouth lacerated by little spikes.  On top of being unable to eat because each and every tooth aches.  I didn’t even know my teeth could hurt.  It took until Thursday night for my hunger to overcome my pain.

The Husband has been very sweet and everyone at work has been supportive, which was worrisome since working backstage often feels like an extension of middle school.  So many people were so nice that it actually added to my nervousness, i.e. I must look really bad. Until Natascha arrived and said, “OUT OF MY WAY BRACE FACE.”   Then I started to feel a little better.  I’ve learned that pretty much anyone I ever thought had nice teeth had braces.  And have horror stories way worse than my new porcelain ornamentation (props to Steph for wearing headgear for two years).

I’ve been in a pretty good mood since I had a revelation last night – I can have braces and still be cute!  That’s right, there’s nothing a little pep can’t cure.  I bet I’ll start a trend in adult braces.  Ponytails + Braces + Tight Shirt = Super Cute.  In fact, there will probably be people getting fake braces just to be like me.

Alrighty then, pass the yogurt.  And maybe today I’ll be able to handle a banana.

Entry filed under: Adventures, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

What I Do At Work: Backstage Edition Toothpic

10 Comments Add your own

  • […] Want to lose weight? Get braces. « Sara Today […]

    Reply
  • 2. Steph  |  January 18, 2010 at 1:47 am

    Woo! I got a shout out! I found my teeth, by the way… look out.

    Reply
  • 3. Mel.  |  January 18, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Picture Please! PS Happy New Year 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Bee  |  January 18, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Ohhhhh I will never forget the intensity of mouth/teeth pain when I had braces. Every fiber of your being IS actually connected to your teeth (little known fact!) The first weeks were lots of yogurt, jello, liquid soups I drank out a a mug. And yes I have one of those horror stories. To align my teeth, I had to wear this metal arch from one side of my molars to the other, insert this microscopic key in a deeleebob in the middle of this metal bridge… and its job? Split my upper palate. Yep. Weeks, months of this little key, a little microscopic crank to make it microscopically wider. The mouth ache was incessant. I was inconsolable the night my upper palate actually split. I respect teeth pain.
    In other news, yeah with braces and pig tails you will get carded ALOT more! But you can easily rock the junior high girl look. Congrats on the life changing mouth changing decision to get braces!

    Reply
    • 5. Jessie is Skoopy  |  January 22, 2010 at 3:13 pm

      Dude, I had that same palette spreader TWICE as a kid. And braces (only once). And I still boast a beautiful smile 15 years later.

      Work for your smile Sara! (Which was always beautiful, but will be even more so.)

      Reply
  • 6. Brandon  |  January 19, 2010 at 7:29 am

    Picture! Must post picture! My dentist just told me last week that maybe I should consider braces.

    Reply
    • 7. saratoday  |  January 22, 2010 at 10:51 am

      Brandon,

      Despite spending 15 minutes per flossing session (down from 30 minutes the first time), I’m actually quite pleased. I couldn’t figure out what was the dark stuff stuck between my two front teeth and why I couldn’t get it out when I finally realized it was SPACE. Haven’t seen that for 3 years at least.

      I’m going to start voting for politicians based on whether or not they had the tenacity to withstand braces. Perfect teeth? Must have worked for it!

      The orthodontist said he estimated 1-1/2 to 2 years for me, which I can deal with. He did mention that it often takes longer for men than women because of your big strong jaws. The H knows a guy whose been in braces for 5 years. I’m not trying to scare you; just saying that if you see an orthodontist you should ask a lot of questions. Also make sure you understand exactly what your dental insurance will cover. I was ready to do this in October, but had to wait for 2010 to get full coverage on the extractions (those will be next week).

      Smiles,
      S

      Reply
  • 8. cut weight fast  |  May 16, 2014 at 9:29 am

    That’s my first time seeing your website. Since you seem to obtain much more
    comments then I really do envy you I do.

    Reply
  • 9. braces colors selector  |  September 8, 2015 at 12:47 am

    braces colors selector

    Want to lose weight? Get braces. | Sara Today

    Reply
  • 10. dgn2200 manuale scolare liceu  |  March 25, 2017 at 6:11 am

    What i don’t understood is in fact how you’re no longer really much more
    neatly-favored than you may be right now. You’re so intelligent.
    You recognize thus significantly in relation to this subject, produced
    me for my part imagine it from a lot of varied angles.

    Its like men and women don’t seem to be fascinated except it’s something to accomplish with Lady gaga!
    Your personal stuffs nice. Always take care of it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 178,212 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


