Poetry in Motion: 5

February 27, 2010 at 7:11 am 2 comments

Here’s a tidbit on internet development – I remembered that the magnetic “Poetry in Motion” feature was part of a website http://www.poetry.com.  Typing that caused me to be automatically redirected to Lulu.poetry, part of the self-publishing giant Lulu.com.  I wasn’t sure if the sites were actually related or if millions of hits had just caused Lulu.poetry to take precedence.  Although I suspected they are one in the same as the new site has a similar  “poem of the day” and “poem contest,” an idea I find philosophically despicable and yet was lured by the prospect of $25!  $250!  $5000!

So I did an advanced search for my name and found 1 of the 3 poems I had entered in the contest many years ago.  To Lulu’s credit it doesn’t actually have the poem, just the title and a link that leads to nothing.  I say to Lulu’s credit because I’m glad the stuff I published on someone else’s site eons ago isn’t there anymore.

It all feels rather 1984 to me – I would never know one site had morphed into  the other except I just happen to remember writing a poem seven years ago.

Meanwhile, I’m trying to remember how I spent that 4th of July …can’t recall but the hazy sky and fireworks must have influenced me.

Entry filed under: Rants & Ramblings, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Poetry in Motion: 4 First Peep of the Season

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie  |  February 27, 2010 at 10:59 am

    was poetry.com the site that would have “poetry contests” where you could “win $1000” and if you entered your poem, with its unique vision, they put it in a book with like 3000 other poems and tried to sell you the book for like $100?

    Reply
  • 2. saratoday  |  February 28, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Yes, that is exactly the site. I can’t believe you remember the “unique vision” line. It is interesting that a company with a business model I didn’t care for was able to turn into Lulu, which has a business model I think is great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 178,212 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


