Cheese Rolling cancelled after 200 years

May 19, 2010 at 12:22 pm 12 comments

Due to safety issues or some such crap, the historic Gloucester Cheese Rolling Event has been canceled after 200 years.  At least I can say I was there.

Cheese-rolling race axed after 200 years… thanks to health and safety killjoys

Does this look dangerous to you?

And just in case you missed it, my video.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized, Videos and Articles. Tags: , , .

What does my dream mean? No wait, don’t answer that. Obligatory Cat Pictures

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jean Jefferies  |  May 20, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Hi Sara, It’s actually been taking place for well over 200 years. It has had to be cancelled this year because it wasn’t possible to insure so many spectators. The runners take care of themselves, they don’t have to do it! This should be sorted for next year though and we hope it will go ahead on 30th May 2011!
    To read more you can buy my book ‘Cheese Rolling in Gloucestershire’ which is available for £13 (P&P free) from my website http://www.cheese-rolling.co.uk, watch this for more news.
    J.J.

    Reply
  • 2. weavehole  |  May 28, 2010 at 1:57 am

    I love the videos from this event.

    Reply
  • 3. Skoopy  |  May 30, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    I am relived to hear that the cheese rolling will be back next year. Phew!

    Reply
  • 4. DSL.  |  June 6, 2010 at 12:04 am

    Love the video – and great “screaming” audio, too.

    Made for a good, if, alas, insufficient, antidote to the 500-person Japanese synchronized orgy, better imagined than attended, I mentioned in my latest illustrated weird-Asia link roundup, and from which I found, via an unfiltered search of Google Videos, an excerpt of c. 5 minutes (the whole c. 106 minutes is also there, for masochist completists).

    And in the latest intra-office memo from our Great Minds Think Alike (And So Do We) Dept., I included the Cheese Rolling event in an email link-roundup from just over a month ago, whose posting unto a waiting world you have just inspired.

    As always, check out the Taberna at Alexandria for several dozen of my latest postings.

    Reply
    • 5. saratoday  |  June 6, 2010 at 9:07 am

      That seems rather structured for an orgy. In fact, Wikipedia says,

      “In modern usage, an orgy is a sex party where guests engage in promiscuous and excessive sexual activity or group sex.”

      and

      “In ancient Greek religion, an orgy (όργιον) was a secret nighttime cultic congregation overseen by an orgiophant (a teacher or revealer of secret rites popularly thought to involve sex),[1] celebrated with dancing, drunkenness, singing, etc. “

      Reply
      • 6. DSL.  |  June 6, 2010 at 10:20 am

        That seems rather structured for an orgy

        Yes, web commenters did note the fact that, since each “orgiast” was confined à her originating deux, the term “orgy” outwore its local latitude from the first cued kiss.

        One widely-quoted web commenter, watching the film, was reminded of March of the Penguins, an emotion I now second, having seen in the diversely-pixellated and perversely-flicks-fellated appendages of the R-rated version mock peng-wings, flapping wildly amid moans that might have set a dozing viewer to dreaming of flocks of possessed seagulls, and as hard to distinguish one from the other as the massed and drilled (!) humans in the original.

        overseen by an orgiophant

        Orgiophant, n., a pachyderm whose aroused trunk is inclined to cross-herd polymorphous perversity.

        Orgiofont, n., an animated typeface whose prominent serifs on alternate characters protrude and curlicue unto the sans-serifs adjoining, with blown smoke visible after the momentary retractions ensuing.

        Reply
        • 7. saratoday  |  June 7, 2010 at 8:35 pm

          My dear DSL, you are always welcome here. You challenge me to think from every angle and follow the link-trail, although I often find myself in want of breadcrumbs.

          Reply
          • 8. DSL.  |  June 8, 2010 at 3:06 am

            My dear DSL, you are always welcome here

            Your Dear Singing Lunatic, back (scr)atcha – “today”, sarandipitiously enough, and all other days ending in -day.

            I’m shaking out a way-overstuffed web sifter these days, and am pleased that you, one of about, oh, five people who seem to have “gotten” me over my first 12 years on the net, retain your presence in my

            My 28-page archive at Alexandria, all 691 entries, the late and wiped Taberna excepted, is here, and makes for superb bathroom reading, tub and shower not excepted (oh, like I’m the only one to take my laptop when I lather my moptop, lave my nave’ and scrub my shrub…). For cherry-picking highlights, let my rococo post titles be your twisted guide to an even more twisted guy.

            What dear sig said of me once applies just as much to Sara Today:

            “Your sense of the absurd is unfailing, and clears the head like a hearty snort of ammonia.”

            I hope to drop in on occasion with a link or two custom-tailored to the most Sarafinicky tastes.

            Reply
  • 9. DSL.  |  June 8, 2010 at 6:50 am

    Yikes, my last comment done vanished…I think.

    Reply
    • 10. DSL.  |  June 8, 2010 at 6:53 am

      Whoops, it just re-appeared in “awaiting moderation” mode, once I hit “Submit” on the next one…d’Oh! Even Homer nods…

      Reply
      • 11. saratoday  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:11 am

        It (WordPress) keeps putting your comments into moderation even though I keep approving them. I can’t figure it out. My settings are not terribly high. hmmmm

        Reply
  • 12. DSL.  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:34 am

    Thanks for your willingness to be called to a tension on the mechanical front, and for your attention to my back-of-the-book literary sumbitchin’s. I’ll keep rolling my cheese here up and down Gloucester, in hopes of catching sight of Sisyphean luster.

    Until next time, as our thread shifts ominously further and further to the right margin, after an old episode of Batman in which our Dynamic Duo, trapped between two walls inching closer together by the minute, long in the short time left for nothing so much as a Dynamic Do-*Over*…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 179,307 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


