Official End of Summer

September 10, 2010 at 7:11 am 3 comments

In Minnesota anyway.

I managed the State Fair twice this year, both times with Fair Aficionados who had agendas and kept me from getting lost.  Definitely the way to go.  Opening Day I went with Carrie, and also ran into Juli.  We started by looking at bunnies and petting sheep, followed by a ride on the giant slide and eating funnel cakes at 10:30 am.  We ate all manner of items on a stick, rested while watching a truly amazing clogging show, admired the political crop art, thoroughly enjoyed the parade of marching bands (complete with one band playing Thriller while dressed as zombies) and left just in time for work exhausted and sunkissed.

Closing Day I tagged along with Carrie and Steph for our first ever evening at the fair.  It poured rain, conveniently while we were enjoying pulled pork and beer at Famous Dave’s.  We played a wee bit of skee ball and ended the night on the Ferris Wheel.

Here are a few pics – some were actually taken by Carrie but I’m sure she won’t mind.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Entry filed under: Adventures, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

I’m baaack! Thy ransom paid, which man from death redeems.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DSL.  |  September 10, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    I went to the Minnesota State Fair c. 1971-1974, aged nine to twelve, when we lived in Burnsville and I attended, successively if not successfully, Gideon Pond and Rahn elementary schools.

    I delivered the Minneapolis Star afternoons off my basketed bike, and the Sunday Tribune either from a wheeled cart or the back of a parental car.

    After doing the Sunday Tribune, my friend Greg, who had an adjoining route, and I would bike down to the Tom Thumb or the PDQ convenience store for candy, soda and comic books/magazines.

    Reply
    • 2. saratoday  |  September 10, 2010 at 2:36 pm

      I had a paper route delivering the Thursday “circular” briefly in 6th grade, but I got fired.

      Come to think of it, I was also bitten by a dog on that route. There is still a faint scar on my right calf.

      Important lesson learned: Jobs suck.

      Reply
      • 3. DSL.  |  September 10, 2010 at 2:43 pm

        Reminds me of when I lived in Gerrards Cross, Bucks., UK, in 1985-1986 with my parents and two sisters, the younger of whom, then 13 or 14, had a paper route. She came into my darkened bedroom one morning and awakened me, crying softly:

        DSL.: What’s wrong?

        AJL.(with pitiful mouth): A.Dog.Bit.Me.On.My.Paper.Route…

        Bit her on her bum, too…

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 181,506 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


