WTF Week – Cross Country Skiing?!?

March 7, 2011 at 2:10 pm 4 comments

I’m not generally one to jump into new athletic activities, particularly those that require coordination like a ball being thrown by or at me.  Never in my life did I think I would try skiing.  It sounds like a recipe for broken bones and disaster.  So I really can’t explain how I ended up renting cross-country skis at REI and joining Kristy on the shallow slopes of Como Park.

Kristy has been skiing since she was 10.  She showed us the basic moves (I say “we” because we let Barney come along).  I started off in the tracks and it didn’t take long for me to leave Barney in the powdery cold dust.  I don’t understand how, but I caught on immediately.  All my muscle groups worked together.  I approached the first (very small) hill and I don’t know what came over me, but I took off fearlessly.  I ended up in a pile at the first curve of course, but was having such fun I got back up and kept going.  Bizarre.  Eventually I even made it down the biggest hill in Como Park really fast WITHOUT FALLING.  I was a lightning flash of skiing amazingness.  (Disclaimer: Kristy’s version of how great I am may be slightly different.)

This is my sport people.  I freaking love it.  The weather is perfect too – it’s been snowing all winter so the ground is packed, but it “warms” up to 35 most days.  It’s supposed to snow all week then be sunny and 33 on Thursday so we’re going again.  Maybe without Barney who spent most of the time on the ground making me look good.

Thanks Kristy for rocking my world!

Kristy & Sara

We’re stage hands, so we’re all still in black.

 

Barney Skiing

Barney Not Skiing

I LOVE SKIING!!!!

Entry filed under: Adventures. Tags: , , , , .

Dear Trashy Neighbors, Please take down the bats already. More skiing! Lake of the Isles

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  March 7, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    That’s crazy! Makes my legs hurt just hearing about!!

    Reply
    • 2. saratoday  |  March 7, 2011 at 2:56 pm

      Yes, I didn’t know my inner thighs could be sore in exactly that way. The falling didn’t hurt that much – I could see it coming and tried to throw myself in the snow bank. It would be easy to mess your knee up though.

      Reply
  • 3. Mel.  |  March 8, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    I am very jealous right now. I heart nordic skiing. It’s one of the only things that could get me to move back to Vermont. Enjoy!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Skoopy  |  March 9, 2011 at 8:54 am

    Wow. Adventure-iffic. Way to use the cold weather to your advantage.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 180,717 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


