The Sara S. Theory of Stage Management

April 8, 2011 at 7:11 am 3 comments

Every once and awhile I am reminded of how much more awesome my insane 25-year old self was in comparison to my calmer but kind of boring now 36-year old self.  Birthdays are good for refection I guess.  Recently I reconnected with a friend from Pittsburgh via The Facebook.  He mentioned he still subscribed to the Sara S. Theory of Stage Management.

I don’t remember having a theory other than Get Through The Day Without Screaming.  I stopped stage managing after determining I didn’t have the personality for it.  But having been reminded of the theory, I remember it clearly and think there may be times incorporating it back into my career as a stagehand could be helpful.

The SSToSM states:  During the tech of a show, on no specific schedule, and without telling anyone, don’t wear underwear.  No matter what is going wrong on stage you can say to yourself, “Self, I’m not wearing any underwear.”

According to the theory, Tech. may not go more quickly, but your day will be much better.

Thank you old friend for reminding me of my awesomeness, with or without underpants.

Entry filed under: That's Show Biz, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Princess Peep of the Milky Way I Can Fit In There – California Edition: Don’t Make Me Leave!!!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bee  |  April 8, 2011 at 7:31 am

    Happy Birthday to youuuu! Today I will play the Avenue Q “No underwear” song today in your honor!
    PS I expect your never-boring 36 yr old self would be an amazing Stage Mgr if given the chance!

    Reply
  • 2. jessieisskoopy  |  April 11, 2011 at 3:51 am

    Now that you jog my memory, I too remember this theory. Perhaps I’ll implement this if I get the job in Singapore. Though it is awfully hot and equatorial there. Maybe I’ll just pretend not to be wearing underwear…

    Reply
  • 3. jessieisskoopy  |  April 11, 2011 at 3:54 am

    And by the way, you are NOT boring. Never have been, never will be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 181,741 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


