My Strategy: Google+

July 15, 2011 at 3:14 pm 5 comments

I was an adamant Facebook resistor until I finally gave in back in January.  First I couldn’t believe what I’d been missing – a continuous party with all my close friends.  I caught up with people I hadn’t seen in awhile, which was great.  There were pleasant surprises in the form of people I had more in common with than I knew, both in and out of town.  People Liked my posts.

That was the honeymoon; it didn’t take long for my Friends to balloon to 146.  It’s stressful; I can’t imagine having 600 to keep track of.  Plus there are people who are vaguely work-related that I don’t really want to post everything to all the time.  And I don’t like that everyone can see all my comments.  It’s creepy.

The point is, although I am usually a Late Adopter, I am jumping into Google+ and have even formulated a plan.

On Arranging Circles:

– Make everyone either a Friend or an Acquaintance/SFW.  Acquaintances don’t need to know I spilled cranberry juice on the floor, but they might like to know I have a show opening.

– Most Friends will also be added to one of two Circles – In Town or Out of Town.  Sometimes I want to discuss things with out of town friends but not necessarily everyone who lives here.  But out-of-towners don’t need to hear all the in-jokes from work.  I want to keep those circles to a manageable number, although I’m not sure what that number is yet.  Facebook was fun when I had between 25 and 80 friends, then it became unwieldy.

– The Family Circle is obvious – close family members.  So far they are also Friends, but that may change as more people join.  I also created an Extended Family category, all though no one is in it yet.  Not all relatives are Friends.  Put that on a fortune cookie.

– There is a Following category built in – I added local performers whom I don’t know particularly well but would like to see what they’re up to.  I imagine they will only allow me to view their more public posts, which is fine.

– Then there are what I hope to be very small Circles.  Girlfriends, which is my ladies, my peeps, my besties with whom I don’t want to censor myself.  There’s also Artsy that I imagine will be where I deposit cool links and political rants commentary.  This will help keep other people’s streams manageable while videos, etc. reach an audience who will appreciate them.  There are some people in Artsy who I didn’t make Friends; they are people I think are awesome but who don’t need to know the mundane details of my life.  These are people whose aesthetic I admire and/or whom post hilariously but also prolifically.

The person in the most Circles so far is my brother.  He is in Friends, Family, Out-of-Town and Artsy.  Hope he wants to follow me!

On Making the Switch:

As of now I’m not planning on defriending anyone on Facebook since I still want to be able to receive invitations, read comments, get messages, etc.  But, as people move to Google+ I am Hiding their FB posts.  Eventually I imagine the people left on FB will be acquaintances, extended family members, and professionals.  I will probably still check FB, but not nearly as often.  It would be nice to drop it altogether, although I can see how that would be more difficult if you’d been on it longer.  It will really depend on what the majority of other people do.

Good luck navigating your Stream.  I Heart Circles!

Entry filed under: Rants & Ramblings, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

It can fit in there. I can fit in the wig dryer.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie  |  July 15, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    Wait. I accepted your Google+ invite does this mean that you’re going to hide my FB updates? I’ve heard buzz about this and made a profile but I’m not ready for the fb era to be over.

    Reply
  • 2. saratoday  |  July 15, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    No no! I will NOT hide you. I should have specified that I’ll be doing that slowly as people start posting more on G+. I’ve done it for a few people already, but I’ll make sure to keep following you on FB.

    Hopefully between the two of us and our 4 e-mail addresses, 4 blogs, 3 social networking sites, 2 cell phones and working in the same building 6 days a week, we’ll find a way to keep in touch. 😛

    Reply
  • 3. Anonymous  |  July 24, 2011 at 9:07 am

    I don’t know anymore, it’s starting to get so complex, sometimes I just wanna go back to the land line and knowing if you really wanted to talk to someone you had to call (speaking of which I will def call you this week I PROMISE), anyway I guess my recent bout of some stranger hacking into my AIM account and someone randomly acquiring my bank / ATM card information has me wondering if having all this info out there is a good thing, even with my privacy settings on FB pretty tight.

    Reply
    • 4. saratoday  |  July 25, 2011 at 10:33 am

      I used the land line at work the other day and was surprised at how clear and loud it was.

      Also, I picked up my cell phone recently to make a call and stood there for a few seconds waiting for the dial tone. Then I felt really old.

      Reply
  • 5. Dana  |  July 24, 2011 at 9:10 am

    that last comment was from me BTW, I don’t know why it has me as anonymous…..see I can’t even figure this out. Sigh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 179,366 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


