Great day, mediocre pictures.

November 6, 2011 at 8:33 pm 7 comments

Friday I had planned to venture into San Francisco for a day out.  It was supposed to rain, but I didn’t care.  I also didn’t bother to take my real camera (why worry about it in the rain?).  Turns out it was the most perfect of days – sunny, barely breezy and just brisk enough for a hoodie.  I took CalTrain to 4th & King and then walked through Chinatown.  I always love walking through Chinatown in any city, but this is the first time I’ve done so since visiting actual China.  It made me giggle – it is the most organized, cleanest, quietest version of China ever.  I was pleased with myself for being able to identify the male and female lions on the Chinatown gate – thank you Jessie for the lesson (the female has her baby with her under her paw).

Ginger from Chinatown - 27 cents!!

Up, up, up some more to the top of Telegraph Hill.  The view was amazing of course; clear all the way past the bridge.  However I only have these not-so-focused pictures from my iPod.  There are a lot of pictures of street signs to help find my way back if the map didn’t work out.

Hills!

Tiny Alcatraz

Walking back through North Beach I was overwhelmed at the number of fantastic looking Italian restaurants.  It seems to me San Fran has more restaurants per square foot than any other city I’ve been in – New York included. Every other door opened to culinary excitement.  I am particularly interested in The Stinking Rose, “We season our garlic with food.”  Can’t wait to start exploring with The Fox.

Thanks for the math help.

I meandered back after that, spending much of my time wondering why Jessie has never lived here – Jessie, this city SCREAMS YOU.  I walked through Nob Hill and then through a not-so-nice area but not exactly sure where that was.  I made my way to the Anthropologie on Market Street – not to buy anything; I just like to pretend I live at the Anthropologie.  Again, Jessie in my thoughts – they had SO MUCH ORANGE on the clearance rack.

Then back to CalTrain and home by six, jiggidy jig.  A few more pics on Flickr.  I love my new city!

public art

Entry filed under: Adventures, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

On the road again with Hula Boy My new girl crush: This woman

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mel.  |  November 6, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Enjoy your new city Sara! It is my favorite place to be in the whole world and I hope to someday get back there again permanently.

    Reply
    • 2. saratoday  |  November 15, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      Hope to see you soon chica!

      Reply
  • 3. Skoopy  |  November 10, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Enjoy your new city and new coast and new home. I can’t wait to come visit you and go shopping at Anthropologie. I do love San Fran.

    By the way, I just got your package. I’m wearing the skirt to work tomorrow!

    Reply
    • 4. saratoday  |  November 15, 2011 at 3:57 pm

      Oh good! That’s a Sara-made-during-Tech. special.

      I was concerned it might get turned away based on my not-so-detailed filling-out of the form on the front.

      Reply
  • 5. DSL. is Scottie  |  November 28, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    I love the cheap Chinatown ginger. Note to self: move out there so I can save on spices; plan on sharing an apartment with the Lucky Number of 11 other people to pull it off.

    Ethnic markets are the way to go for spice savings.

    Reply
    • 6. saratoday  |  November 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm

      I suspect what you save on spices you will lose on rent. But it will be sunny!

      Reply
      • 7. DSL. is Scottie  |  November 28, 2011 at 4:46 pm

        “I suspect what you save on spices you will lose on rent.”

        Proverbial DSL.: “Hey, look – at this week’s Buy Ten Get The Eleventh At Half Off Sale at Screw the 99c Store Everything Here’s a Dime a Quarter or Fitty Cent on tiny soaps and travel shampoos tinier still, I can save as much as $5 on a year’s supply – just as soon as I get gas for the two-hundred-mile round trip!”

        “But it will be sunny!”

        It’s Always Sunny Today In Sara Friscodelphia.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 179,307 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


