Neon Green 80s

March 24, 2012 at 10:14 pm 5 comments

We were so cool, so bad, so rad.

 

Recently I rediscovered this picture of my little sister and me in matching homemade neon green outfits circa 1984.  When we were very little, my mom made most of our clothes, culminating each spring with beautiful Easter dresses.  She continued through the mid-80s then (gave up?) opted for store bought just as I hit middle school and she started working more.  Shame on me for coveting the name brands at the mall.

Make no mistake – it is not an accident that my shirt is oh-so-casually falling off my shoulder.  I was trying to distract from the glasses.

I don’t know which is my favorite part – my sister’s tiny side ponytail or a that we’re rocking our neon green shorts-suits with matching lace trimmed ankle socks AND jellies.

A moment in time.  A moment in time.

Entry filed under: Adventures. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

found in a notebook Amazing graphics, awesome ads – Ms. magazine c.1972

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie  |  March 25, 2012 at 8:34 am

    Side Pony!

    Reply
  • 3. imjustagirlintheworld20  |  March 25, 2012 at 11:40 am

    Yo, those glasses are H.O.T.!!!

    Reply
  • 4. DD  |  March 25, 2012 at 11:41 am

    I left the last comment, I don’t know why it gives me a new name. Ugh, I can’t figure this internet out 😉 ~ DD

    Reply
    • 5. saratoday  |  March 25, 2012 at 7:24 pm

      There are hipsters out there wishing they had glasses as great as 4th grade me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Can Fit In There

Check out my new website icanfitinthere.com

Loyal Readers & 1-Hit Wonders

  • 179,307 views

Where do they all come from?

Archives


